How does the Indian Premier League work?

What is the IPL?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual T20 cricket event that started in 2008.

It was founded by then BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi as a result of the popularity boom of the T20 style in India when the nationwide team won the 2007 Globe T20.

When does it begin?

The IPL occurs in March, April and also May of each year as well as lasts for roughly seven weeks.

As a result of the Coronavirus outbreak, the 2020 edition will certainly occur from September to November 2020 in the United Arab Emirates.

The amount of groups are in the IPL?

The IPL is a franchise-based competition with eight groups, each standing for an Indian city.

When the tournament was first founded, an auction was held to identify the cities that the groups would certainly be based in, as well as the proprietors of each group.

The 8 teams that took part in the 2008 IPL were based in Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and also Mumbai.

The Mumbai franchise business– named the Mumbai Indians– was one of the most pricey, with Reliance Industries paying $111.9 m to purchase it.

There have been numerous amendments in subsequent years as a result of financial and also match-fixing assents brought upon on some of the franchise business.

Teams from Pune, Kochi as well as Rajkot have participated given that the competitors’s induction, but the 2020 listing consists of groups from the exact same 8 cities as in 2008, though Hyderabad’s franchise has changed from the Deccan Changers to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The groups involved in the 2020 edition are as follows:


Home ground: M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Captain: MS Dhoni

Most expensive player: M.S Dhoni (15 crore/$ 2.1 m). Their most pricey new signing is Piyush Chawla (6.75 crore/$ 946k).

Largest toughness: Their bowling assault, including Ravi Jadeja, Imran Tahir and also Josh Hazlewood.


Home ground: Arun Jaitley Arena

Captain: Shreyas Iyer

Most costly gamer: Rishabh Pant (8 crore/$ 1.1 m). Their most costly new signing is Shimron Hetmyer (7.75 crore/$ 1.1 m), while they have additionally authorized Ravi Ashwin (7.6 crore/$ 1.1 m).

Biggest stamina: A leading order of Shikhar Dhawan, Jason Roy as well as Shreyas Iyer must do some damages.


Home ground: Punjab Cricket Organization IS Bindra Stadium

Captain: KL Rahul

Most expensive gamer: KL Rahul (11 crore/$ 1.5 m). Their most pricey brand-new signing is Glenn Maxwell (10.75 crore/$ 1.5 m).

Largest toughness: Rahul and Chris Gayle were both among the leading 6 run-scorers in the 2019 IPL.


Home ground: Eden Gardens

Captain: Dinesh Karthik

Most costly player: Rub Cummins (15.5 crore/$ 2.2 m) is not just KKR’s most pricey player, however the most expensive abroad gamer in IPL history.

Greatest toughness: Cummins and also Andre Russell will spearhead a strong rate bowling system.


Home ground: Wankhede Stadium

Captain: Rohit Sharma

Most costly gamer: Rohit Sharma (15 crore/$ 2.1 m). Their most pricey new signing is Nathan Coulter-Nile (8 crore/$ 1.1 m).

Biggest stamina: Jasprit Bumrah as well as Lasith Malinga need to be outstanding with the sphere at the fatality.


Home ground: Sawai Mansingh Stadium

Captain: Steve Smith

Most costly player: Ben Stokes (12.5 crore/$ 1.8 m). The Royals paid 3 crore ($ 420k) for every one of Rahul Tewatia, Robin Uthappa and Akash Singh in the 2020 public auction.

Largest strength: Jos Buttler can get Rajasthan off to a strong beginning at the top of the order, with Sanju Samson, Steve Smith as well as Ben Stokes below him.


Home ground: M. Chinnaswamy Arena

Captain: Virat Kohli

Most expensive gamer: Virat Kohli (17 crore/$ 2.4 m) is one of the most expensive gamer in IPL history.

Biggest strength: As ever, much is expected of Kohli and Abdominal de Villiers in RCB’s middle order.


Home ground: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Captain: David Detector

Most pricey player: David Detector (12 crore/$1.7 m). Their most pricey new signing is Mitchell Marsh (2 crore/$280k).

Largest toughness: Detector and also Jonny Bairstow formed an awesome opening collaboration in the 2019 IPL.

Exactly how are IPL groups chosen?

Franchises get gamers by means of a yearly gamer auction, trading gamers in specific trading windows, and finalizing players who are not picked up in the public auction.

Most of finalizings happen at auction, where gamers establish themselves a base price as well as join the franchise business that inevitably bids most for them.

At the end of each IPL season, the franchise business needs to choose whether to restore each gamer’s agreement or release them.

Squads must contain 19-25 players, with a maximum of eight overseas players. A playing XI should not include anymore than four abroad players.

Find out extra with our overview to how the IPL auction functions.

What is the format?

Most of the competition adheres to a basic structure: each of the eight interplay each other house as well as away, with two points gained for a win, one point for no result or a tie, and also none for a loss.

At the end of that double round-robin procedure, the bottom four groups in the table are eliminated and also the leading four teams advance to the playoffs.

This is where things obtain a little challenging.

The groups that finished initially and also second in the league table will play each other in Qualifier 1. The champion of that match will certainly advance to the last, however the loser is not yet gotten rid of.

On the other hand, the teams that finished fourth as well as 3rd in the organization table will certainly play each other in the eliminator.

The loser of the remover is knocked out, while the victor of the remover gains the right to play the loser of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2.

The winner of Qualifier 2 plays the winner of Qualifier 1 in the final, where the winner of the event is crowned.

In the 2020 version, groups will be permitted unrestricted Covid-19 alternatives.

Who is one of the most pricey player?

Australia’s Rub Cummins ended up being the most pricey overseas gamer of perpetuity in the 2020 auction, setting you back Kolkata Knight Riders 15.5 crores ($2.1 m).

Virat Kohli is one of the most costly player overall, however– the 2018 renewal of his contract with Royal Challengers Bangalore deserved 17 Crores ($2.4 m).

That are the previous champions?

The Mumbai Indians ended up being the first team to win the IPL for the 4th time by defeating the Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 last.

Chennai have won the title on 3 events themselves, in 2010, 2011 and also 2018. No other team has ever efficiently safeguarded the prize.

The Rajasthan Royals won the first edition of the IPL in 2008, yet have not raised the prize considering that.

The now-defunct Deccan Chargers asserted the title in 2009, with the Sunrisers– who replaced the Chargers as Hyderabad’s franchise business in 2012– effective in 2016.

The Kolkata Knight Riders, at the same time, were crowned champions in 2012 as well as 2014.